Class of 2014

Tayyeb Afridi ('14)

Tayyeb Afridi

Yahoo! International Fellow
radio development manager, Internews, Peshawar, Pakistan
tayyeb@stanford.edu, @TayyebAfridi

Challenge: A radio news agency rooted in mobile technology to provide news to Pakistan’s tribal areas.

Umbreen Bhatti

Umbreen Bhatti

co-founder islawmix, Oakland, California
umbreen@stanford.edu, @ub14

Challenge: To reimagine how we identify and tell the many untold stories about our legal system, especially stories about our civil rights and civil liberties.

Aela Callan ('14)

Aela Callan

freelance news correspondent, Yangon, Myanmar
aela@stanford.edu, @aelacallan

Challenge: Improve reporting on ethnic and religious violence in Myanmar through a system to identify, track and counteract hate speech.

Ana Carrano ('14)

Ana María Carrano

Knight Foundation Latin American Fellow
editorial projects chief, Cadena Capriles, Caracas, Venezuela
acarrano@stanford.edu, @AnaMariaCarrano

Challenge: An audio-based collaborative website to help improve transparency and access to information.

Keli Dailey

Keli Dailey

staff writer, U-T San Diego, San Diego, California
kdailey@stanford.edu, @kelidailey

Challenge: A storytelling and art platform for food projects.

Gus D’Angelo

Gus D'Angelo

game animator, TinyCo, San Francisco, California
agostino@stanford.edu

Challenge: An open-source platform for producing and distributing interactive cartoons for smartphones and tablets.

Amie Ferris-Rotman ('14)

Amie Ferris-Rotman

Lyle and Corrine Nelson International Fellow
senior correspondent, Thomson Reuters, Kabul, Afghanistan
amie2@stanford.edu, @Amie_FR

Challenge: Creating sustainable training and mentoring for Afghan female reporters.

Tran Ha

Tran Ha

editor, RedEye/MetroMix, Chicago Tribune Media Group, Chicago
tha@stanford.edu, @tranosaurus

Challenge: A digital pilot and toolkit to connect news organizations and millennials, the next generation of media consumers.

Kennedy Jawoko ('14)

Kennedy Jawoko

freelance journalist, Toronto, Canada
kjawoko@stanford.edu, @KJawoko

Challenge: Improve investigative reporting on the Sino-African relationship with an online portal that facilitates connections among African and Chinese journalists.

Martin Kotynek ('14)

Martin Kotynek

investigative editor, Die Zeit, Berlin, Germany
mkotynek@stanford.edu, @martin_k

Challenge: An open-source collaborative fact-checking platform, supercharged with crowdsourcing, to make fact-checking more credible.

Andrew Losowsky

Andrew Losowsky

senior editor, Huffington Post, New York
losowsky@stanford.edu, @losowsky

Challenge: A platform to create pop-up, need-based publications in crisis situations.

Carlos Martinez de la Serna ('14)

Carlos Martínez

data journalism/media partnerships, CartoDB/Second Read, Madrid, Spain
cmserna@stanford.edu, @cmdelaserna

Challenge: Page One Project is an exploration of novel interfaces to help navigate, explore and share digital news.

Shazna Nessa

Shazna Nessa

former deputy managing editor, editorial products and innovations, Associated Press, New York, New York
shazna@stanford.edu, @shazna

Challenge: Increase visual literacy and the understanding of data visualizations by focusing on use of design and storytelling

Eric Ortiz

Eric Ortiz

senior editor, New Media, New England Sports Network, Cambridge, Massachusetts
eortiz@stanford.edu, @erictortiz

Challenge: Develop a mobile reporting tool that streamlines multimedia storytelling for live sports coverage.

Qian Kejin ('14)

Qian Kejin

Enlight Foundation Fellow
vice director/editor/writer, Yangcheng Evening News, Guangzhou, China
kejinq@stanford.edu

Challenge: Improve investigative reporting on the Sino-African relationship with an online portal that facilitates connections among African and Chinese journalists.

Martin Quiroga

Martín Quiroga

systems architect, Jana Inc., San Francisco, California
quiroga@stanford.edu

Challenge: A collaborative filtering platform for news.

Cindy Royal

Cindy Royal

associate professor, School of Journalism and Mass Communication, Texas State University, Austin, Texas
cindyroyal@stanford.edu, @CindyRoyal

Challenge: An open-source, online training platform for teaching coding and data skills to journalists.

Alexa Schirtzinger

Alexa Schirtzinger

editor, Santa Fe Reporter, Santa Fe, New Mexico
aschirtz@stanford.edu, @aschirtz

Challenge: Reimagining local journalism’s business model for the digital age.

Camille Seaman

Camille Seaman

photographer, Emeryville, California
cseaman@stanford.edu, @CamilleSeaman

Challenge: A website that applies indigenous perspectives and wisdom to current environmental stories and issues.

Danyel Smith

Danyel Smith

author and journalist, Brooklyn, New York
danyel@stanford.edu, @danamo

Challenge: A teaching platform that provides tools for journalists as they serve America's new "normal" demographic.

Senior Fellow

John Temple (senior fellow '14)

John Temple

former managing editor of the Washington Post, Washington, D.C.
jtemple@stanford.edu