Class of 2015

Najia Ashar ('15)

Najia Ashar

Yahoo! International Fellow
Karachi, Pakistan
najia@stanford.edu, @najiaashar

Challenge: How can we use technology to protect journalists in Pakistan?

Zena Barakat ('15)

Zena Barakat

New York
zenab@stanford.edu, @zena_b

Challenge: How might journalists better use social media to report breaking news thoroughly and accurately?

Charla Bear ('15)

Charla Bear

San Francisco
cdbear@stanford.edu, @CharlaReports

Challenge: How might interactive online tools be used more effectively for multimedia training?

Donna Borak ('15)

Donna Borak

Washington, D.C
dborak@stanford.edu, @donnaborak

Challenge: How can news organizations capture and keep our online audiences amid so many constant distractions?

Carolina Guerrero ('15)

Carolina Guerrero

Knight Foundation Latin American Fellow
San Francisco
carolina.guerrero@stanford.edu, @nuncaduermo

Challenge: How can we help Latin American journalists produce long-form narrative radio journalism?

Lope Gutiérrez Ruiz ('15)

Lope Gutiérrez-Ruiz

Austin, Texas
lope@stanford.edu, @hello_lope

Challenge: How can we make city performance data more engaging?

Louis Hansen ('15)

Louis Hansen

Norfolk, Virginia
lhansen3@stanford.edu, @HansenLouis

Challenge: How do we create profitable, afternoon tablet publications for newspapers?

Jeremy Hay ('15)

Jeremy Hay

Santa Rosa, Calif.
jahay@stanford.edu, @jeremyhay

Challenge: How can we encourage more and deeper reporting on poverty in the United States?

Cordelia Hebblethwaite ('15)

Cordelia Hebblethwaite

London, United Kingdom
cordheb@stanford.edu, @CordeliaHeb

Challenge: How can journalists exploit the full potential of social media?

Jiang Jing ('15)

Jiang Jing

Enlight Foundation Fellow
Beijing, China
jingj@stanford.edu

Challenge: How can we increase high quality science reporting in China?

Anne Kornblut ('15)

Anne Kornblut

Washington, D.C.
anne8@stanford.edu, @annekornblut

Challenge: What new tools and skills do newsroom leaders need to grow digital audiences?

Yvonne Leow ('15)

Yvonne Leow

New York
yleow@stanford.edu, @YvonneLeow

Challenge: How can we unlock valuable information buried in our news archives?

Izabela Moi ('15)

Izabela Moi

Knight Foundation Latin American Fellow
São Paulo, Brazil
imoi@stanford.edu, @izamoi

Challenge: Testing ways to give residents of São Paulo, Brazil information they need to better understand issues affecting the region.

Michael Morisy ('15)

Michael Morisy

Boston
morisy@stanford.edu. @morisy

Challenge: Can we do new forms of journalistic data gathering that are more cost effective, powerful and transparent?

Beatrice Motamedi ('15)

Beatrice Motamedi

Oakland, Calif.
bymota@stanford.edu, @writergirl

Challenge: How can we bring young journalists from around the world together to collaborate and receive training?

Akoto Ofori-Atta ('15)

Akoto Ofori-Atta

Brooklyn, New York
aofori@stanford.edu, @KO_616

Challenge: How can we produce, and distribute online, universally relevant stories rooted in African-American experiences?

Dickens Olewe ('15)

Dickens Olewe

Lyle and Corrine Nelson International Fellow
Nairobi, Kenya
dolewe@stanford.edu, @DickensOlewe

Challenge: Will the creation of a drone journalism corps inspire the use of unmanned aerial vehicles in Africa?

Christina Passariello ('15)

Christina Passariello

Paris
cpassa@stanford.edu, @cpassariello

Challenge: How can journalism use data in a more interactive way to better engage readers as consumers?

Mariana Santos ('15)

Mariana Santos

San Jose, Costa Rica
santosm@stanford.edu, @marysaints

Challenge: How can we get more women in Latin American newsrooms using technology to tell stories?

Anh Hoá Truong ('15)

Anh Hoà Truong

Fontenay Sous Bois, France
anhhoa@stanford.edu @AnhhoaTruong

Challenge: How can we make it possible for news organizations to easily create newsgames?