Class of 2015

Najia Ashar ('15)

Najia Ashar

Yahoo! International Fellow
senior anchor and producer, Geo News, Karachi, Pakistan
najia@stanford.edu, @najiaashar

Challenge: How might online visualizations be used to provide safety training and guidelines to Pakistan’s journalists?

Zena Barakat ('15)

Zena Barakat

senior producer, video, The New York Times, New York
zenab@stanford.edu, @zena_b

Challenge: How can we make watching news videos on a cellphone be a more delightful, engaging and addictive experience?

Charla Bear ('15)

Charla Bear

anchor and reporter, KQED Public Media, San Francisco
cdbear@stanford.edu, @CharlaReports

Challenge: How might we redesign public media newsrooms to increase their creativity and innovation?

Donna Borak ('15)

Donna Borak

federal reserve reporter, American Banker, Washington, D.C.
dborak@stanford.edu, @donnaborak

Challenge: How can we help people focus when consuming news online, to improve engagement with journalism?

Carolina Guerrero ('15)

Carolina Guerrero

Knight Foundation Latin American Fellow
co-founder and executive director, Radio Ambulante, San Francisco
carolina.guerrero@stanford.edu, @nuncaduermo

Challenge: How can we help Latin American journalists and storytellers produce long-form narrative radio journalism?

Lope Gutiérrez Ruiz ('15)

Lope Gutiérrez-Ruiz

co-editor and co-founder, Gopher Magazine, In-House Int'l, Austin, Texas
lope@stanford.edu, @hello_lope

Challenge: How can we make city data more engaging?

Louis Hansen ('15)

Louis Hansen

tablet reporter, The Virginian-Pilot, Norfolk, Va.
louis.hansen@stanford.edu, @HansenLouis

Challenge: How can we create engaging and profitable afternoon tablet publications for newspapers?

Jeremy Hay ('15)

Jeremy Hay

staff writer, The Press Democrat, Santa Rosa, Calif.
jahay@stanford.edu, @jeremyhay

Challenge: How do we tap the native talents in low-income communities to create their own source of media coverage?

Cordelia Hebblethwaite ('15)

Cordelia Hebblethwaite

lead writer, BBC Trending, London
cordheb@stanford.edu, @CordeliaHeb

Challenge: How can we take the “chore” out of social media for journalists, and fully tap its potential for newsgathering?

Jiang Jing ('15)

Jiang Jing

Enlight Foundation Fellow
senior editor, Science and Technology Daily, Beijing
jingj@stanford.edu

Challenge: How can we improve the quality of science reporting in China?

Anne Kornblut ('15)

Anne Kornblut

deputy assistant managing editor for national news, The Washington Post, Washington, D.C.
anne8@stanford.edu, @annekornblut

Challenge: How can we attract a broader digital audience to news?

Yvonne Leow ('15)

Yvonne Leow

senior associate, North Base Media, New York
yleow@stanford.edu, @YvonneLeow

Challenge: How can we preserve and analyze digital news archives to better cover our communities?

Izabela Moi ('15)

Izabela Moi

Knight Foundation Latin American Fellow
editor and project coordinator, Mural Project, São Paulo
imoi@stanford.edu, @izamoi

Challenge: How might we assure the inclusion of underrepresented and unheard voices in the mainstream news flow?

Michael Morisy ('15)

Michael Morisy

founder, MuckRock, Boston
morisy@stanford.edu. @morisy

Challenge: Can we develop new forms of journalistic data gathering while also creating new revenue models?

Beatrice Motamedi ('15)

Beatrice Motamedi

freelance journalist, Oakland, Calif.
bymota@stanford.edu, @writergirl

Challenge: How might we create a space for student journalists to connect and create global stories?

Akoto Ofori-Atta ('15)

Akoto Ofori-Atta

senior editor, Essencefestival.com, Brooklyn, New York
aofori@stanford.edu, @KO_616

Challenge: How might we produce universally relevant stories rooted in African-American experiences?

Dickens Olewe ('15)

Dickens Olewe

Lyle and Corrine Nelson International Fellow
website coordinator, The Star Publications, Nairobi, Kenya
dolewe@stanford.edu, @DickensOlewe

Challenge: How can we form a community to help safeguard drone journalism in Africa?

Christina Passariello ('15)

Christina Passariello

senior reporter, The Wall Street Journal, Paris
cpassa@stanford.edu, @cpassariello

Challenge: How can journalism use data in a more interactive way to better engage readers as consumers?

Mariana Santos ('15)

Mariana Santos

interactive journalist and motion designer, Carvoeiro, Portugal
santosm@stanford.edu, @marysaints

Challenge: How can we bring more women into technology in newsrooms?

Anh Hoá Truong ('15)

Anh Hoà Truong

science, technology and ecology editor, Courrier International, Fontenay Sous Bois, France
anhhoa@stanford.edu @AnhhoaTruong

Challenge: How can virtual reality games be used to tell science stories?